Goals

Yesterday I had something awesome happen for me, my friend Suzi Storm signed me up for the Boilermaker!  I am so thrilled and excited.  It’s been quite a long time since I’ve had a goal, something to work on.  And now I have 182 days to train to run 9.3 miles!  I am ready for this.  I am ready to have a purpose as to why I am working out and why I am doing this.  I think it’s part of what has been missing why am I doing this.  I remember the reasons I started WW the first time, I was morbidly obese and on the brink of diabetes.  Now I am not obese, I am not in a health risk situation.  So why am I doing it?  Well first off I don’t feel good 20 pounds heavier, I know what a healthy weight feels like now and it feels good.  Right now I don’t feel good, and I am not using that as a catalyst to spur me on in this journey of healthy living.  I did go back to WW last Thursday I have 20 pounds to lose to get back to goal.  I went back and started like I was new, I am tired of looking at how much I have slipped and I am looking at it like a separate journey.  This has made a switch in my head go off.  Instead of looking at my weight record with another + on it now it’s truly a fresh start.  I have tracked everyday since Friday morning.  I have a new fitness goal plus I have assessments for roller derby at the end of January.  Even though I know I won’t pass the first set of assessments I am using it as a gauge, I will reassess later in the year.  But that is another goal to work towards and another reason to workout and get fit.

So I learned that I need goals to keep me going I am not someone who can just live healthy and be ok with it.  I need something to work towards otherwise I end up in a rut and start to convince myself that the weight I gained is OK, and it’s not.  I start to bury my head in the sand to not notice it or avoid people so they don’t notice and that isn’t getting me anywhere.

 

 

Leave a Reply

