My First Ever Bike Tour

On Sunday June 5th I did my first ever bike tour for the Learning Center, called the Ride 2 Read.

I have officially fallen in love with bike tours, I am signing up for a few more this year.

I got up at 6 am and got dressed

I left for the 30 minute ride, on the way I ate my pre packed breakfast a wrap with an egg, some chicken, spinach, tomato, a laughing cow cheese wedge and avocado.  I wanted to make sure I ate something hearty to hold me over during the ride.

I arrived around 7:20 and checked in, I was so excited to be there, but I was the only one who was on a cruiser. 

Once there I grabbed my number and had enough time to have a little coffee.

I got number 100 (this is the second time this year I got that # and think it’s cool when I do)

We were off, the first 10 miles where pretty straight forward and flat.

It was a beautiful day and I loved getting to take in the sites, this area had some great big farm houses. I love the old houses in this area!

About 10 miles in we encountered a couple of the hills we were to face today, I found these challenging but not too bad.

Here I am after a tough hill, I got lucky and met another rider whom I rode with and chatted for a little while.

Here she is and that barn behind her how cool is that place!

We stopped at about mile 13 for a rest stop, I grabbed a banana and had some water.

Once I was done with that I was on my way and this second part of the tour took me through some back roads and down hills.  It was awesome!

The last 5 miles where through a wooded trail over some small bridges and all shaded I was by myself for most of this part, either in front of some and behind lots.  But this wasn’t about time or a race, this was just a ride and one I wanted to enjoy.

When I hit the city again I was sad I wasn’t ready to be done but knew I had to get back.

I was so proud of myself, I wasn’t sure I could do the 25 but I did and I wasn’t overly fatigued!  I had the best time and can’t wait to get out for a ride again.

Here Lulu and I are at the end of the race.

I am already signed up for a RIDE MS charity ride in August, please help me raise the minimum donation of 250.00 no amount is too small, I promise! MS Donations

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 00:49:12

    You are so cute!! Sounds like fun.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Adrienne
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 04:21:57

    Has anyone ever told you .. with the glasses on, you look like Scarlett Johannsen? xoxo

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

