Gym Insecurities

I was at the gym today doing a training run completed my sprints and settled into a great pace to finish off a few miles when into my head pops “you still look like the fat girl struggling on the treadmill”
I know WTF!!! I immediately thought where did that come from, why would that pop into my head?  I was in the middle of a great run, not 30 minutes before did someone say how great I was looking, that you can really see the weight loss.  After 80 pounds, 14 months on plan and these feelings still pop up.  I see it this way I have two choices I can let that thought that feeling beat me go get some ice cream and wallow in it, or I can say NO WAY!!!  And banish the negative self talk. 
So after finishing the 60 minutes of running I hoped on the bike for 40 more minutes just to prove my head wrong and my heart right!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. allofmywords
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 18:52:16

    This happens to me too constantly. I am no where close to goal, about half way through my WL journey, and I still feel like the girl in the corner of the gym praying that no one would look at me.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Melissa
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 23:44:32

    I hope you know by sharing that, you’re helping others! Its always nice to know you’re not alone. Seeing someone like yourself, who’s a pure inspiration, have the same thought from time to time helps me get through my struggles thinking, it’s just a passing thought!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Glam
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 01:36:58

    I can’t believe how much you’ve transformed over the past year. You look incredible and I am so inspired and proud of you. Sometimes it seems the physical changes come easier than the mental ones. You’ll get there. I know you will. You have the determination and drive to make that negative part of your brain learn what the rest of you already knows… You are awesome, with a heart of gold and you look amazing. xoxo

    Like

    Reply

  4. Anna @ DiaryFFA
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 19:56:21

    Hate those moments. It happens to me sometimes in yoga because I am staring into a mirror and I am bigger then a lot of people in my class. I am better at telling that voice to shut up, but I also wonder why it has to pop into our heads. I think it’s still trying to reconcile two identities. Who you were, and who you are. You’re fit 80 pounds lighter, and healthy not a the fat girl on the treadmill by any means.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Debbie
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 19:01:02

    wow you are awesome with exercise! i’m lucky if i can run 10mins before i’m out of breath and having knee pain. AND you did the bike afterwards! good for you, tell your head to shove it 😉

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

