Pacing Myself

I have been thinking a lot about my goal weight, what I want it to be, and getting there in general.  I have been putting pressure on myself to get there quicker since I am leaving my job and don’t want to have to stop going to meetings because I can’t afford it and haven’t made lifetime.  This is causing me a lot of stress and I have not been losing consistently, I have only lost about 6 pounds since October.  Being so stressed I am eating due to the emotions and causing myself more stress. 

While I was out running today I started comparing my running journey to my weight loss journey.  I started thinking about how patient I am with my running and that I am ok with my pace, it’s not fast it’s slow and steady.  I don’t expect things out of my running that I expect out of my weight loss.  I am willing to work on my running and put the time and effort in as I know I am not going to hit the pavement and run an 8 minute mile or run 26 miles with out stopping.  I know I have to take small steps to increase my distance.  I need to start thinking this way with my weight loss.  I will figure out a way to stay with WW because I need it, I look forward to it and it grounds me.  In a society that wants instantaneous results, we have email,  text messaging, and twitter, we can find and get anything we want relatively quickly it’s hard to say hold on this takes time. 

I know I will get there, I know it will be this year, but I need to stop pushing and stressing myself because it’s not going to help my situation.  I need to look back and know that I am capable of making this happen and I have proven it.  I need to remind myself I have the tools and the drive to do this and will be ok.

Today I remembered my pace and that I got this.  I am more than just capable, I am awesome!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. veronica
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 02:03:38

    Wow— first, thank you for your comment on my site.
    Second, I just read through a lot of your blog and what you have done is amazing. Really amazing. Your insights to pace vs weight were incredible. I hope you find some relief from being hard on yourself. We are so good at that, you know? You WILL hurl this wall. YOU WILL. I see that you follow Sheryl, aka B-Cakes… she hit a plateau as well and so have others… but their body caught up with their right choices. And so will yours. Which, by the way – I would kill for your body! LOL
    Thanks for sharing your journey with us all out here. You are inspiring many, me being one. blessings, veronica

    Like

    Reply

    • rissamama3
      Jan 11, 2011 @ 02:11:02

      Thank you Veronica, I know I am being hard on myself and I know I need to take a deep breath and get over it!

      You will be were I am before you know it, it’s crazy how fast it happens when you’re not picking at the little things.

      I love B Cakes, I love her writing style.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Karen
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 15:13:59

    It’s amazing how impatient we can be with ourselves. Especially when we know that it’s not the right approach at all. You are definitely capable of this, you just have to give yourself some love and care and patience!

    And thank you for your comment on my blog! We should definitely try to run the Great Bay together! Though, at your rate, you might be doing the half marathon while I do the 5K!

    Like

    Reply

    • rissamama3
      Jan 12, 2011 @ 15:27:49

      I am signed up for my half in Oct I would love to run the 5K with you! Maybe we can do a couple races together this year, I did the will run for beer series in Portsmouth last year and liked it.

      I need to be patient I am trying but I am having another week of no movement on the scale and I am tracking away and not going over my ap’s and I earn truckloads of them so frustrating I think a big part of it is stress I am currently under. And I really don’t want to be one of those people that wine about it all the time so I am going to just let it go.

      Like

      Reply

  3. Renée (@lowfatpie)
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 15:03:18

    what a great way to look it it! and actually something that I really needed to read right now. I have no issue either with my running. I plan for it, I go out there, I do it, I’m patient, I keep going. But with weight loss and food, I’m fed up to my eyeballs! So thank you for this and good on you for refocusing. Stressing yourself out over when you “should” be at goal for whatever reason is just NOT going to work!

    I’m so proud of you! weight loss, running, everything!

    xx

    Like

    Reply

    • rissamama3
      Jan 13, 2011 @ 21:29:33

      AWWW Renee I get where you are right now, I have been reading your tweets thinking yep yep yep I get it!! Driving myself nuts, absolutley NUTS!!!

      But I need to slow down and pace myself and go with the flow.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

