New Years Run

Today I participated in the Hangover Classic in Salisbury Beach,  I had a great time today in this race!

Here I am all ready to go at my house with my race hair!

I got there about 30 minutes early.  I checked in and got my number.  I have to say I was a little intimidated as there were a lot of people there.  After leaving the shirt in my truck I went back to the porta potties but there was a big line, luckily there was a girl in front of me whose friend came running over to tell her there was a bar up the street letting runners use the facility and no line.  Needless to say I jumped on that gravy train!!  So after going at the bar I headed to the start line.   We had about 5 minutes left before taking off, I was shocked at how many people there were.

Here is a shot of the starting line. 

Before I knew it we were off, they announced at the start that they had opened the 10K to anyone who wanted to run it whether they had signed up or not, we could decide during the race.  So about a mile and a half in they said if you’re doing the 5K go left the; 10K stay straight.  I chose to stay straight I thought what the hell great way to start making great decisions in 2011.  So I changed my 5k into a 10K on the spot.  It was  a beautiful day to be out, it was 60 degrees and I was out running along the beach.  We ran through Salisbury on into Seabrook.  I grew up vacationing in Seabrook so I was happy to be running here.

After running for about 4 miles we then turned off the main road and on to the beach!!

It was so pretty but boy running on sand is so tough!

We ran on the sand for about a half mile then back out onto the road for the last 2 miles of the race. 

I finished in 1:16 which is 2 minutes slower than my last 10K but I figure between the slow start and the running on sand that’s ok.  Plus I didn’t even sign up to do 6 miles I only signed up for 3 so WIN!!

At the end of this race the big thing is to run into the Atlantic Ocean, which I did!!

Here are the people jumping in before me!  I took the plunge just after this picture was taken!

Here I am after! 

It was really cold, it took my breath away but I did it.  I was iffy on it last night but decided this is something the old me would never do and why the hell not I can say I did it, I jumped into the ocean on New Year’s day I am a Bad Ass!!

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Adam
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 18:43:57

    Great way to start the New Year!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Monika
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 02:04:26

    LOL You bad ass you! I’m very proud and happy for you!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Glam
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 15:04:23

    WOWOWOWOW! I am freezing just thinking about that plunge. Yes, you are a badass! WTG for turning the 5k into a 10k — just the sort of thing a badass would do. xoxo

    Like

    Reply

  4. Karen
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 21:30:53

    So so impressed that you just turned your 5K into a 10K! What a great way to set intentions for the year ahead!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

