Becoming Me Again…

Growing up I  have been called a lot of things through the years, outgoing, cheery, friendly, happy, loud, but never would I have been called shy, a wall flower, or quiet.  That was until I got fat, once I got fat I didn’t want to be noticed.  My weight killed me.  I was buried alive inside my own body.  I didn’t want to draw attention to myself so I wasn’t as friendly, outgoing, or vivacious. I was no longer myself, this girl wasn’t who I wanted to be.  I was embarrassed that I got this big,  I cared so little about me, I let this happen.  I some point last year enough was enough.  I had decided I needed to start caring about my health or I wouldn’t make it back to me. 

I went to my brother’s wedding this past Friday and I realized something, I unburied me, I am becoming me again.  That big personality I had well I still have it!  I had the confidence to get out on the dance floor throw my hands in the air and have a great time, I danced with abandon!  I wasn’t concerned with what anyone was thinking about seeing the fat girl on the dance floor.  Cause I am not that girl anymore.   I was just grooving to the music!  This girl can throw her head back and laugh with her brother’s! 

It was such a great night, I actually remember thinking I feel beautiful, people can say it but to really feel it is a whole other story.

Here I am with my brother Sean a year ago and a week ago, what a difference!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glam
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 15:43:00

    Hi, just found your blog! Dancing without giving a thought to what others think is a huge milestone! I know this from experience… You look amazing & HAPPY! Keep it up!

    Now, off to read your archives!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

